/ Washington DC

EN
/

Join our email list

Tal Becker: The Moral Tribes of the Jewish People

Conflict and Community in an Age of Polarization
Nov 19, 2019

/

Washington DC

Nov 19, 2019
time
07:00 pm ET
06:00 pm CT
05:00 pm MT
04:00 pm PT
02:00 am ISRAEL
More Time Zones
location
Washington Hebrew Congregation
3935 Macomb St, NW
Washington,, DC
US
Region: Washington DC

The Moral Tribes of the Jewish People

In many of the issues dividing the Jewish people today – whether Israel, American politics, or others — conflicting viewpoints are often seen not as part of healthy community debate, but as moral lines which separate loyalty from betrayal, creating a battlefield of intensifying tribal conflict. The result is a zero-sum dynamic, which threatens civil discourse, delegitimizes compromise, and undermines our sense of Jewish community and peoplehood.

Hartman Senior Research Fellow Tal Becker will explore an alternative to this partisan dynamic, where the issues at stake touch our sense of identity and our moral convictions so deeply.

More on
Search
FOLLOW HARTMAN INSTITUTE
Join our email list

SEND BY EMAIL

The End of Policy Substance in Israel Politics