Donate

EN
/

Join our email list

Selling Chametz or Selling Out: Can Loopholes be Religious?

A deep dive into the theological, social, and legal logic and meaning behind the rabbinic phenomenon of legal loopholes.
Apr 11, 2024

/

New York

Apr 11, 2024
time
07:00 pm - 08:15 PM ET
06:00 pm - 07:15 pm CT
05:00 pm - 06:15 pm MT
04:00 pm - 05:15 pm PT
02:00 am - 03:15 am ISRAEL
More Time Zones
location
Shalom Hartman Institute of North America
475 Riverside Drive, Suite 1450
New York, NY
Region: New York

Every year prior to Passover, observant Jews sell their leavened products (chametz) to someone who is not Jewish and then buy them back after the holiday. Loopholes like this practice, often generate cynicism that Jewish law is more legalistic than it is values-laden. Join Elana Stein Hain for an alternative view: a deep dive into the theological, social, and legal logic and meaning behind the rabbinic phenomenon of legal loopholes as we celebrate the publication of her new book, Circumventing the Law: Rabbinic Perspectives on Loopholes and Legal Integrity. 

REGISTRATION COMING SOON

Program will be followed by a dessert reception. Elana’s book will be available for purchase and signing at the event.

 

Search
FOLLOW HARTMAN INSTITUTE
Join our email list

SEND BY EMAIL

The End of Policy Substance in Israel Politics