/ Washington DC

EN
/

Join our email list

Prevailing Over Binary Thinking: Workarounds, Loopholes, and Flexibility

A deep dive into the theological, social, and legal logic and meaning behind the rabbinic phenomenon of legal loopholes.
Jun 05, 2024

/

Washington DC

Jun 05, 2024
time
07:00 pm - 08:15 PM ET
06:00 pm - 07:15 pm CT
05:00 pm - 06:15 pm MT
04:00 pm - 05:15 pm PT
02:00 am - 03:15 am ISRAEL
More Time Zones
location
Ohev Sholom Congregation
1600 Jonquil St NW
Washington, DC
Region: Washington DC

What can loopholes in Rabbinic law teach us about holding multiple values and flexible thinking, at a time when our cultural discourse is often stuck in zero sum games and mutually exclusive positions?

Join Elana Stein Hain for a conversation with Rabbi David Wolkenfeld of Ohev Sholom Congregation about the theological, social, and legal logic behind the rabbinic phenomenon of legal loopholes, based on her new book, Circumventing the Law: Rabbinic Perspectives on Loopholes and Legal Integrity.

Program will be followed by a dessert reception. Limited copies of Elana’s book will be available for purchase and signing at the reception.

This event presented in partnership with:
Search
FOLLOW HARTMAN INSTITUTE
Join our email list

SEND BY EMAIL

The End of Policy Substance in Israel Politics