/ New York

EN
/

Join our email list

From Left to Right…and Everything in Between: The Importance of Jewish Political Diversity

Yehuda Kurtzer and Nancy Sinkoff in conversation about her book, which was selected as the Fall 2020 Natan Notable Book.
Jan 06, 2021

/

Virtual Event

Jan 06, 2021
time
12:30 pm - 01:30 PM ET
11:30 am - 12:30 pm CT
10:30 am - 11:30 am MT
09:30 am - 10:30 am PT
07:30 pm - 08:30 pm ISRAEL
More Time Zones

From Left to Right…and Everything in Between: The Importance of Jewish Political Diversity

Politics seems to be invading our lives at every turn. Media and social media polarize us, framing debates as “us vs them,” “right vs left,” and even “good vs evil.” And while it’s comforting (and increasingly easy) to talk to only like-minded individuals, making room for differing opinions–ones that are based on careful and informed consideration–is essential to an open, healthy society. This is true among American Jews no less than among any other Americans, as conversations about the need for “diversity” increasingly seem to ignore the reality of political diversity.

Join Yehuda Kurtzer and Nancy Sinkoff for what promises to be a fascinating dive into this thorny issue and a discussion of Nancy’s book From Left to Right: Lucy S. Daw­id­ow­icz, the New York Intel­lec­tu­als, and the Pol­i­tics of Jew­ish History, selected as the Fall 2020 Natan Notable Book. The conversation will be moderated by Felicia Herman.

This event is co-sponsored by the Natan Fund and the Jewish Book Council.

Search
FOLLOW HARTMAN INSTITUTE
Join our email list

SEND BY EMAIL

The End of Policy Substance in Israel Politics